While Playground's Announcements feature allows your center to send messages to parents, the Chat feature lets you have two-way conversations. You can message people individually or as a group, and you can also name groups to easily label your conversations.

Your center has the ability to control whether or not teachers can begin Chat conversations with parents; this might limit whom you are able to initiate conversations with.

How to start a conversation in Chat

On the Dashboard screen, tap the chat icon in the upper right corner. You'll be brought to the Chat screen. If you don't have any conversations yet, you'll be prompted to start a new message—tap the "New Message" button. If you do have active conversations, tap the new message icon in the upper right corner of your screen.

The New Message screen will open. Use the search bar to look up a teacher or parent name. Select as many names as you like, then tap "Chat" in the upper right corner to begin your conversation.

A Conversation screen will open. From here, you can send texts, photos, and videos. For texts, type into the message field and send by tapping the arrow to the right of the field. For photos or videos, tap the plus sign to the left of the text field and then tap "Take Photo" to open your mobile device's camera or "Media Library" to view your photo album. (You'll have to give the app permission to access your camera and/or media library.)

How to add people to a conversation

To add people to an existing conversation, start on that Conversation screen. Tap the "Info" icon on the upper right of the screen to be taken to the Chat Settings screen. From here, tap "+ Add people" to bring up the Add Members screen. Search teachers or parents by name, select as many names as you'd like, and then tap "Done." You'll return to the Chat Settings screen, now updated with the new members. To return to the Conversation screen, tap the "X" in the upper left corner of the screen.

How to name or leave a conversation

Navigate to the Chat Settings screen of the conversation you would like to name or leave.

To name a conversation, tap the "Group name" field at the top of the screen. Type in your desired name. The name is automatically saved when you return to the Conversation screen; you'll receive a notification that says the group name has changed. Now, on the Chat screen, the conversation appears as the group name instead of a list of members in the conversation.

To leave a conversation, navigate to the Chat Settings screen. Tap "Leave this conversation" and then "Leave Conversation" to confirm the action, or "Cancel" to remain in the conversation.

Did this answer your question?